Northern Dakota County Cable Communications Commission

Our Mission Statement:

The mission of NDC4 is to serve its member cities by administering and enforcing the cable franchise ordinance, managing institutional programming and overseeing local community programming on their behalf.

Franchise Renewal:

All seven member cities of the NDC4 Cable Commission will consider two resolutions recommended by NDC4 in the coming weeks. The resolutions relate to the Comcast cable television franchise ordinance in each city. Comcast is requesting approval from each city to “transfer” its franchise to a new owner as part of the larger national merger where Comcast is acquiring Time-Warner Cable. In Minnesota, Michigan, and a handful of other mid-western states, Comcast is divesting of its cable systems, and they will be owned by a new franchisee controlled by a company called “Midwest Cable.” NDC4 is recommending that each of its member cities adopt a resolution approving the transfer with a number of important conditions designed to protect the city, its residents, and its cable subscribers. NDC4 is also recommending that each city grant a 12-month extension of the current franchise to allow NDC4 and Comcast (or the new grantee) time to complete franchise renewal negotiations, which have been delayed due to the above mentioned merger transaction. Copies of these resolutions and related documents are available at on the “cable customers” tab located at the top of the home page.

By federal law a cable television franchise granted by a city is NOT exclusive, and in fact the NDC4 Cable Commission may have the opportunity to receive a competitive video franchise application from CenturyLink sometime this spring, thereby giving the residents of northern Dakota County the possibility of having another option for wireline video services that include the local community channels provided by Town Square Television.

Residents are reminded that they may call the cable commission if they have questions or unresolved complaints with Comcast. They should first attempt to contact Comcast at 651-222-3333 or visit the local cable store at 5300 South Robert Trail (Salem Square Shopping Center) Inver Grove Heights, MN. NDC4 is here to assist with unresolved concerns and will forward complaints to an “escalated complaints” department within Comcast for faster resolution, Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., at 651-450-9891. NDC4 offices and Town Square Television studios are located at 5845 Blaine Avenue, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076. More information is available at

Who and What We Are:

NDC4 is a municipal joint powers cooperative formed in 1982 by the seven cities of Inver Grove Heights, Lilydale, Mendota, Mendota Heights, South St. Paul, Sunfish Lake, and West St. Paul.

Get Microsoft Silverlight

To achieve our mission, we provide consumer protection services for cable subscribers and directly oversee government and educational programming (see our city meeting schedule) on Channels 18, 19, and 20. We also administer LOCAL community programming thorough our non-profit corporation, Town Square Television.

The cable commission consists of a city council and citizen representative from each of our member cities. Five of the fourteen commissioners are elected commission officers who form the Executive Committee. The full commission meets on the first Wednesday of every other month (February, April, June, August, October, and December), while the Executive Committee meets during the months in between. Full commission meetings are televised LIVE the first Wednesday of every other month at 7 p.m. on Government Channel 18.

If you have an issue with Comcast...

NDC4 works as an advocate for cable customers. If you have an issue with the cable company and are a Comcast subscriber in the Twin Cities, MN area, start by calling Comcast at (651) 222-3333.

If you are unable to resolve your question or problem directly with Comcast (and you live within the cities of Inver Grove Heights, Lilydale, Mendota, Mendota Heights, South St. Paul, Sunfish Lake, and West St. Paul), you may call the cable commission at (651) 450-9891.

If you do not live in the above-mentioned cities, call your city hall to find a local franchise authority.

Franchise Info

The Franchise is Comcast's "license to do business" in each of our seven member cities. Each of our seven member cities have passed the Franchise in the form of a City Ordinance, and NDC4 enforces this Ordinance on behalf of the member cities and their residents and Comcast subscribers in these cities. The Franchise is NON-EXCLUSIVE, meaning that other cable TV providers could apply for Franchises in our seven-city area.

Click here to view the Franchise Agreement

TV Schedules

Select a channel:

Quick Survey

Which of the following Town Square Television community channels do you watch the most?

Community Ch 14

Public Access Ch 15

Multifaith Access Ch 16

Government Ch 18 & 19

Education Ch 20

Community Bulletin Board